andreaHi! I’m Andrea.

October 21, 2015

Well after reading this again I realize that some things have recently changed. We closed the preschool due to low enrollment (I’ll probably write a post on it when it is not so fresh)  and I took a 60% job teaching good old biology- but with a focus of interconnectedness as I am now a proud and compassionate vegan.  Going on 10 months!

I am using my free time to pursue things that I am passionate about like crafting, essential oils, animal welfare and generally working for myself.  I am also doing some substitute teaching to gain experience before adding my multiple subject teaching credential.

What I really want to do is run an animal sanctuary with my partner and teach children from there.  Live in a tiny home (or a few tiny homes), grow my own food, make my own products, produce less waste and enjoy a simple kind life.

January 5, 2015

I have spent the last 9 years teaching high school sciences: biology, conceptual physics, earth science, and classes of my own creation.  My first year I taught in San Francisco, the next 6 years I spent at an inner city school in Hayward and my last two years at a continuation high school in Dublin, CA.

The realization came to me that I could have more of an impact on a child’s life if I was with them when their brains were growing the most- when they were creating the synaptic pathways that would serve them for their entire lives, at the wonderful age of 3.

So I made the choice to give up my tenure job at a high paying district and moved to Santa Cruz to work with my Ma at her preschool in Watsonville, CA to earn an hourly wage.  Taking the leap that if I work hard for myself and the children then I will be rewarded with more than just a pension when I retire.

It has been an interesting and rewarding experience and I have found that I am being a true scientist for the first time in my life.  I am observing how children learn, noting what they want to learn and am creating curriculum that is geared towards their play, questions and actions.

My intention is to share my experiences, my failures and successes, with anyone who wants to better understand what it means to educate our children while providing for their social and emotional needs.  Along with things we can do to be the best for ourselves.

I love to walk on the beach and in the forest and can feel the tranquility it brings after living in the city of Oakland for the last 8 years.  My partner and I have also recently discovered a path to our own wellness through essential oils.   After also minoring in religious studies, I have discovered how mindfulness can give us the boost we need to be who and what we want to be.

I also have two cats, Puffin and Quartz.  I want to be a cat lady one day.  Q and P

 

This is a rare shot.  Usually its more like this.

p and q